Hillsborough County Florida

Hillsborough County Courthouse Hillsborough County is the largest  in the Tampa metropolitan area, and the fourth most populous county in Florida.

It was created on January 25, 1834 from Alachua and Monroe counties. It was named for Wills Hill, the Earl of Hillsborough and British Secretary of State for the Colonies from 1768-1772. Hillsborough county’s original boundaries in 1834 were much larger and included 8 other present-day counties: Charlotte County, De-Soto, Hardee, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk and Sarasota County. The last significant change in Hillsborough County’s borders was the separation of its western section to create Pinellas County in 1911.

Hillsborough county, together with Pinellas, Pasco and Hernando counties comprise the Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater Metropolitan Statistical Area. Hillsborough is the largest county in the metropolitan area, with Tampa forming the region’s hub, and the fourth most populous county in Florida.

According to 2010 census report Hillsborough County’s  population was 1,229,226 with density of 1,170 per square mile.

The county seat and largest city in Hillsborough County, Florida is Tampa.

Hillsborough is also a home to Alafia River State Park and Hillsborough River State Parks.

View all the homes in Hillsborough County Florida


Adjacent counties to Hillsborough county include:

  • Pasco County, Florida – north
  • Polk County, Florida – east
  • Hardee County, Florida – southeast cornerHillsborough county florida
  • Manatee County, Florida – south
  • Pinellas County, Florida – west

Incorporated Places of Hillsborough County include:

Hillsborough County has only three incorporated places, which are all chartered as cities under Florida law:

  1. City of Plant City
  2. City of Tampa
  3. City of Temple Terrace

Unincorporated census designated places of Hillsborough County include:

  • Apollo Beach
  • Balm
  • Bloomingdale
  • Brandon
  • Carrollwood
  • Cheval
  • Citrus Park
  • Dover
  • East Lake-Orient Park
  • Egypt Lake-Leto
  • Fish Hawk
  • Gibsonton
  • Keystone
  • Lake Magdalene
  • Lutz
  • Mango
  • Northdale
  • Palm River-Clair Mel
  • Pebble Creek
  • Progress Village
  • Riverview
  • Ruskin
  • Seffner
  • Sun City Center
  • Thonotosassa
  • Town ‘n’ Country
  • University
  • Valrico
  • Westchase
  • Wimauma

Unincorporated communities not census designated places of Hillsborough County include:

  • Adamsville
  • Antioch
  • Boyette
  • Carrollwood Village
  • Del Rio
  • East Lake
  • East Tampa
  • Egypt Lake
  • Gulf City
  • Hopewell
  • Keysville
  • Knights
  • Lake Fern
  • Leto
  • Lithia
  • Orient Park
  • Palm River
  • Rocky Creek
  • Seffner Hills
  • Sun City
  • Sweetwater Creek
  • Trapnell
  • Turkey Creek

Zip Codes for Hillsborough County include:

View all the homes in Hillsborough County Florida


Public Schools in Hillsborough County Florida:Hillsborough County Schools

Hillsborough County Public Schools operates public schools in the county. Hillsborough County, Florida has the eighth largest school district in the United States consisting of 206 schools  which includes 133 elementary schools, 42 middle schools, 2 K-8 schools, 25 high schools. Twelve out of Hillsborough County’s 25 high schools are ranked in Newsweek’s list of America’s Best High Schools.

In 2009, The Hillsborough County School District was awarded a one hundred million dollar grant by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation to improve education through improved mentoring and evaluation of teachers

List of Hillsborough County Public Schools


Libraries in Hillsborough County:


Map of Hillsborough County:


Asbel Creek Real Estate in Land O Lakes FL

Education API paramenters [key] for function schoolSearch() were not found. Please check the Plugin Settings.